Bráðum koma blessuð jólin

Hello, Internet!

Free time makes me artsy

Free time makes me artsy.

It has been an age, has it not? (Especially in Internet Time, in which, I believe, 25 minutes = 1 human year.) But rest assured, I have not forgotten you. Rather, I have been finishing finals (I did pretty darn well, thank you), writing, working, finishing my Christmas shopping, making lots of Christmasy-delicious things (candied ginger and orange peels and rhubarb jam thumbprint cookies), paint-by-numbering (see above), reading, ‘starring’ in a video segment about sea swimming (actually was harder for me to be filmed in this video than it was to go in the water), watching English period dramas (Christmas = Pride and Predjudice), meeting fellow Icelandic language enthusiasts/students/bloggers in person (hi, Mark!), saying goodbye to friends leaving the country (bye, Megan!), going to Christmas parties/dinners/buffets, winning gift exchanges (see below) and generally running around in a seasonally frazzled, but cheery, sort of way.

The fantabulous hand-knitted, self-designed mittens by Aino that I received at a Christmas party this week.

The fantabulous hand-knitted, self-designed mittens by Aino that I received in a gift exchange at a Christmas party this week.

With Christmas just around the corner, I’d like to share a song that one of my teachers sang to us on the last day of class, “Bráðum koma blessuð jólin,” or ‘Blessed Christmas Will Arrive Soon.’

The Icelandic lyrics can be (very) roughly translated as follows (not my most elegant work, obvs):

Blessed Christmas will soon arrive
Children begin to look forward [to it]
Everyone will receive something beautiful
At the very least, candles and cards.

Candles and cards, candles and cards.
At the very least, candles and cards.

What it will be no one knows
It’s difficult to predict.
But it is sure to always be
Immensely fun then

 fun then
fun then
Immensely fun then.

So, obviously the rhyme is better in Icelandic and I don’t have much in the way of poetry-translation-skillz, but you get the gist. Obviously, this harkens back to an earlier time, too, what with the reference to ‘candles and cards,’ as classic Christmas gifts.

I did a lot of writing about Christmas for our last issue of the Grapevine, and the candles and cards tradition came up in the process of my research for that, too. So when the articles are online, I will get them posted ASAP, but in the meantime, a very Gleðileg Jól to all of you, and more, soon(er).

4 thoughts on “Bráðum koma blessuð jólin

  1. Way amazing mittens! I’m only a little jealous- and really glad I didn’t buy those mittens I briefly thought about including in your holiday package- not even a close second! A light filled Christmas and New Year to you.

Leave a Reply

