A Trip to the Doctor

Although I hesitate to call myself an “expert” at living in Iceland just yet (we’ve only just barely had our six month anniversary here, cue triumphal music), I was honored to be asked to contribute informational articles about living as an expat in Iceland to the Expat Blog’s “local expert” series.

My hope is that in contributing to this series, I can help shed some light on some of the more quotidian complications associated with moving to Iceland, having troubled through these seemingly simple processes myself. The first of such attempts is this article, published today: “Visiting the Doctor and Filling a Prescription in Reykjavík.”

I realize that this is rather specialized information, but should you be interested in learning more about the Icelandic social insurance system and what it is like to visit a doctor in the capital, it might be of interest.

Leave a Reply

