A Rather Blustery Day

Hello, All! I hope you had a delightful weekend. I’m sitting in the cafeteria at school (this morning referred to as the ‘foodateria’ by an instructor–my first example of Islen-gish!), eating a bowl of tomato soup, and waiting for the university print shop to finish printing more of the course packets for my classes.

Today is lending a new meaning to the idea of a “blustery day.” I woke up listening to the wind outside in the trees (yes, there are a not inconsiderable number of trees and bushes in our new neighborhood), a sound which at first made me think that we were about to be ambushed by a tidal wave. Walking back from class this morning, with the wind at my back, I was basically propelled along as though on roller skates. And when Mark and I returned to campus this afternoon, we did so with hands on heads to protect our hats and both basically walking at a 90 degree angle so as to fight our way toward more protected sidewalks–it’s really windy everywhere, but it’s particularly windy by the ocean.

It’s hard to take pictures which can capture windiness, but I did my best while buttressing myself against a lamppost this morning. Also, as you can kind of see in the picture showing Hallgrimskirka, it apparently snowed on the mountain facing Reykjavík last night, which if I am not mistaken (and I might be*) is actually Snæfellsjökull, a nearby glacier  Mount Esja, which “watches over Reykjavik like a guardian angel.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Update: 15:46: While walking to pick up my course packet a few minutes ago, a tree literally reached out and hit me in the face. Or so it seemed. Windy day indeed!
*I was mistaken, after all.

Leave a Reply

